

# **The ACP Internship Programme**

Are you a university student or a recent graduate? Are you looking for work experience at the European Investment Bank (EIB), the European Union's financing institution? If so, you may be interested in the ACP Internship Programme.

The ACP Internship Programme, funded from the resources of the EU Member States, is open to students who are nationals of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Partner Countries<sup>1</sup>. The goal of this Internship Programme is to offer successful candidates an opportunity to improve their skills as well as the experience of working in a multicultural international environment.

Duration of the internship: 6 months, with possibility for extension up to a total of 12 months.

## Who are we looking for?

The EIB seeks talented young individuals who wish to contribute towards improving people's lives by promoting economic and social progress in the ACP Partner Countries. This Programme seeks candidates specialising in a field relevant to international investment and development banking, such as finance, economics, law, as well as environment, engineering or urban planning.

# Are you eligible?

All candidates who wish to be considered for the ACP Internship Programme must meet the following criteria:

- be a national of an ACP Partner Country;
- be proficient in English or French and have a working knowledge of the other language;
- hold or be in the final year of a degree from an ACP Partner Country;

 have demonstrated ability to conduct analytical work, to exercise good judgment and to work as part of a team;

• have some work experience (usually no more than two years).

## What are we offering?

We offer an opportunity for professional development and global experience in an international environment, with wide exposure to the EIB's various business activities. The EIB provides a competitive remuneration package to all interns, including a monthly stipend, insurance and reimbursement of travel expenses corresponding to one round trip from/to the point of origin, or two in case of twelve months assignments. Interns will be responsible for their own living/accommodation costs.

Each successful candidate commits to a minimum of six months and a maximum of 12 months in the Programme, to be spent at the EIB Headquarters in Luxembourg.

#### How to apply?

Interested candidates should consult the EIB's website at https://erecruitment.eib.org where positions will be published between November and December 2017. The candidate will need to submit a resume and should include one letter of recommendation, preferably from a professor. Only those identified for an assignment will be contacted to discuss their interest and availability.



European Investment Bank 98-100, boulevard Konrad Adenauer L-2950 Luxembourg (+352) 43 79 1 (+352) 43 77 04 www.eib.org/acp – info@eib.org

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>i</sup> The programme is open to nationals of those ACP countries that ratified the Partnership Agreement between the members of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part (Cotonou Agreement), signed in Cotonou on 23 June 2000 and revised in Luxembourg on 25 June 2005 and in Ouagadougou on 22 June 2010, and are eligible for development finance co-operation under the European Development Fund: Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Cape Verde, Comoros, Bahamas, Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Cook Islands, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Republic of Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.